‘Rurouni Kenshin: Kyoto Inferno’

Samurai X - Rurouni Kenshin

Samurai X – Rurouni Kenshin

Growing up, I remember bonding with my older brother watching anime shows. It could be one of the reasons why I suddenly turn into one of the boys when it comes to stuff like this. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t do cosplay nor call myself a fashionista. I just have a wide variety of likes. A little bit of everything if I may say so. 😀

When I heard way back in 2012 that there would be a film adaptation of the Manga Series turned Anime Series Rurouni Kenshin (Samurai X) I just knew I had to see it in the big screen.

So I did, and waited up until this Sunday to see the sequel! 😀

Himura Kenshin and Makoto Shishio

Himura Kenshin and Makoto Shishio

That delight that I felt as I saw the anime I’ve watched growing up come to life and mind you the screenplay and effects were excellente as well! It was just an awesome experience! 😀

Kenshin and Seta Sōjirō

BTS: Kenshin and Seta Sōjirō

Rurouni Kenshin: Kyoto Inferno didn’t fail to amaze and tap my inner anime  fan girl spirit. The action scenes were just breath-taking and well played. It almost felt like I was watching it in front of them inside the movie as I become more and more immersed in each of the scene.

Kyoto Inferno’s plot:  After his ordeal with Udō Jin-e, Himura Kenshin’s brief period of peace is interrupted by the presence of Hajime Saito, the former captain of the Shinsengumi who assumed an alias in Tokyo’s police force. With Takani Megumi’s freedom at the balance, Kenshin learns that he is being enlisted in a covert operation at the city of Kyoto. There, Kenshin deals with a small army under the leadership of Hitokiri Battōsai replacement and successor, who was deemed a great enough threat to the Meiji government’s stability that they attempted to burn him alive: Makoto Shishio.

Rurôuni Kenshin The Great Kyôto Fire arc_Shishio fire

And to prove that Filipino’s love this anime series so much, it’s film adaption topped the Philippine box-office with P42.61 million in five days, from its first day of screening last August 20 to 24. (Source)

I’m so excited to see the last installment! Rurouni Kenshin: The Legend Ends coming this September 24 on Philippine cinemas.

tumblr_n2q7o29LWb1s68ogmo1_1280

“You’ll only realize that you truly love someone if they already caused you enormous pain. Your enemies scan never hurt you the way your loved ones can. It’s the people close to your heart that can give you the most piercing wound. Love is a double-edged sword, it can heal the wound faster or it can sink then blade even deeper.” – Himura Kenshin (Samurai X)

mariel

2 thoughts on “‘Rurouni Kenshin: Kyoto Inferno’

So what do you think?

