New Job

Image

“The best way to not feel hopeless is to get up and do something. Don’t wait for good things to happen to you. If you go out and make some good things happen, you will fill the world with hope, you will fill yourself with hope.”
― Barack Obama

This Monday (August 19,2013) marks my first day as an employee at Jones Lang Lasalle. I was excited and I felt a bit timid knowing that I am the youngest one to be in there.

It was a rainy morning, actually having to find out days later that there was a storm waiting to happen. It was a real hassle going to work that morning. When I arrived, they had just started being toured in the premises. It was already the part where the Boss takes us to the pantry area which is quite a lovely one. Comfy.

As I walked fidgety towards them, my Boss asked me “Did you had a hard time getting here?” and I immediately responded with a nod. There were 3 other girls who were hired and has the same start date as me. They all smiled and I did the same.

They thought It was my first job or some sort because I look too young for them. Then I said my age and someone among the girls commented “Ah, so that’s why you look so young! You are really still young! Hahaha!”

It was the moment that I’ve always wanted not to happen… the moment that my colleagues felt the urge (ever since my first job) to call me… “Baby Girl.”

I hated it.

It means they always get to worry about me or look after me etc etc

It has it’s pros and cons yet honestly I just want them to understand that I can manage it on my own with minimal assistance.

I guess it’s also because I generally am shy and quiet the first few months at work and very secretive about my personal life even after  them sharing their stories and such.

Anyhow, we went to the training room area and the Boss gave us handouts to  go through and had a little chat to basically get  to know each other and being the youngest I was “volun-told” (our term when someone volunteers you instead of themselves)

My introduction about myself was very minimal, they had to keep asking me several questions before they realized I am some sort of introvert.

When the other girls (knowing their age at this time I should actually refer to them as ladies) started telling about themselves, man I was blown away!

They were really onto impressing our Boss and I guess that was a wake up call for me to get together my act and be more mature with this opportunity that was given to me.

And after that chit-chat the Boss told us that because of the bad weather we may notice that there a re a few people at work that day and she was even quite surprised we all made it. That’s when she told us she has  decided to have us go early before anything bad happens and atleast not be stranded on our way home. She had just asked us to observe a few hours how our work is done and then we can go home.

That was when we were introduced to our Immediate Supervisor. We stayed for about 2 hours and we were told that the rain’s getting a bit nasty and it’s in their best interest that we go home already.

That is actually quite surreal for a first day but I enjoyed it anyway.

I hope everything works out and I am aware it is up to my performance.

I know I am still young but hey I am not getting any younger. I play hard, I should know how to work hard as well.

And yes I just celebrated my birthday last August 2nd. Here’s a snapshot of me at Romulo Cafe.

Image

Take care!  🙂

So what do you think?

